Tuesday, July 19, 2011

CD Review: Suicide Silence Rule With "The Black Crown"

California metal band Suicide Silence released their third full-length album on July 19. The album entitled "The Black Crown" was released through Century Media Records and was produced by Steve Evetts (Sepultura, Hatebreed).

If you are unaware of the type of music that Suicide Silence produces, then you are in for a rude awaking. The new album blast right out of the gate with the album's third single "Slaves to Substance." The energy and speed that Suicide Silence put into their music is hard to match. Their music has no gimmicks or trickery, it is straight forward speed metal with lead singer Mitch Lucker leading the way with his screaming vocals. The album's first single "Human Violence" is a neck-breaking, head-banging speed rocker that is motored by the drumming of Alex Lopez. The second single released was "You Only Live Once" which has some nice chord changes. The song "Witness the Addiction" features Jonathan Davis of Korn and is one of the more mainstream metal songs on the album.

Suicide Silence are on tour as part of the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival. They will be performing at the Comcast Music Theatre In Hartford on July 24. For a complete list of tour dates and more information on the new album visit the band's facebook page (facebook.com/suicidesilence).

No comments: