Sunday, March 18, 2012

CD Review: The New Cassettes Woke Up With "Winterhead"

English rock band, the New Cassettes have some new music on the horizon. Due out April 3rd, the new album entitled “Winterhead” will be released on N13 Records in partnership with MTV. Their music has appeared on the MTV shows “Jersey Shore” and “The Real World: San Diego” and also on the season premiere of “Grey’s Anatomy.” This band are finally on the verge of breaking through onto U.S. mainstream radio.

The new album begins with “Left/Right,” a great high-energy, modern rocker that gets carried throughout the album. This tempo continues with “Bite Your Lip” and “Little Extremes.” The New Cassettes really get their infectious popular groove going on “Silent Guns.” The band slows down the beat on the moody sounding “You Are A Slow Wave” and “Straight Lines,” before returning to their rock roots with “Ghosts.” The grunge-like guitar in “I’m Not Faithful At All” only adds that edginess that the lyrics are portraying, as the album closes with the Coldplay sound-alike, “I Awoke.”

The New Cassettes just wrapped up an appearance at this year’s SXSW Festival and are heading out on the road across the U.S. They will wrap-up their tour with a stop at The Space in Hamden, CT. For a complete list of tour dates and more information on the new album, be sure to check out

No comments: