Friday, March 23, 2012

CD Review: OSI Expand Their Sound On "Fire Make Thunder"

Heavy metal/Prog-rockers OSI are ready to release their fourth collaborative effort entitled “Fire Make Thunder.” OSI is made up of Fates Warning guitarist Jim Matheos and former Dream Theater keyboardist Kevin Moore. The duo, along with session drummer Gavin Harrison of Porcupine Tree, help create some of the most mind-expanding progressive metal in music today.

The 8-song album begins and ends with the two longest songs on the album, the seven-minute heaviness of “Cold Call” and the ten minute, King Crimson sounding “Invisible Men.” In between is mixed with industrial metal (“Guards”), gentle acoustics (“Indian Curse”), and the sound exploration (“For Nothing”) as OSI expand their sound on this latest release. The heaviest song on the album is the instrumental song, “Enemy Prayer” which also shows how this band can rock.

The new album will be released on March 26th through Metal Blade Records. For more information on OSI, check out the band’s website (

No comments: