Thursday, May 3, 2012

CD Review: Rocky Loves Emily Tells Us Their "Secrets"

From Michigan comes Indie/Rock/Punk/Pop band Rocky Loves Emily with their debut album "Secrets Don't Make Friends." The album was released back in April on Tooth & Nail Records and carries a very young, energetic vibe that is burning up the airwaves.

The album begins with the pop/punk sounding "I Don't Like You" as you instantly find yourself enjoying this very addictive beat. The up-tempo songs "Drivin' Me Crazy" and "Guilty, Guilty" are the perfect back-drop for the energy this band has to offer. The album's first single "Secrets Don't Make Friends" plays right into the mainstream sound with its pop lyrics and simple dance beat. Rocky Loves Emily seem uncomfortable with the slower songs like "Oil & Water" and "Be Mine Tonight" as they almost like they walked through their performances in order to get back to what they enjoy. The fun sounding "Nightmare" and "The One You're Searching For" keeps their sound fresh and entertaining all the way to the closing song "The Root Of All Evil."

Rocky Loves Emily have a handful of live dates scattered throughout the summer. Please visit to see their video for the title song and to see their complete list of tour dates.

No comments: