Thursday, July 26, 2012

CD Review: Penny Jo Pullus Shows The Way "Through The Glass"

Singer/songwriter Penny Jo Pullus was working on some new material for her fifth album. She also decided to record some cover songs for the new album. Her and her band sounded so good and had so much fun recording that they decided to record the songs for her new album and also include only a few new originals. Her new album entitled “Through The Glass” contains eight cover songs ranging from Emmylou Harris to the Rolling Stones.

The album begins with an all too safe version of Brian Setzer’s “The Knife Feels Like Justice.” Her voice sounds great, but doesn’t match the song’s gritty subject. Her country roots coming shining on one of the original tunes, “Nowhere To Go.” With the help of great musicians like Will Sexton, Ian McLagan and John Bush to name a few, Penny Jo is able to concentrate more on her vocals as she delivers country versions of The Beatles’ “Every Little Thing” and Dusty Springfield’s “Son Of A Preacher Man.” The album closes with a “spot on” rendition of the Rolling’s Stones’ “Dead Flowers.”

Penny Jo Pullus has a show scheduled July 28 at the Bell Springs Winery in Texas. Her new album, “Through The Glass” is available now. For more information, please visit

No comments: