Monday, August 20, 2012

CD Review: New Music From The Higher Concept, The Como Brothers Band And Gitar

From New York comes the hip-hop trio The Higher Concept with their new full-length album entitled “Everybody.” Since their beginning in 2005, the band has made it clear that they don’t want to compromise on their message and their sound. They have a “Grassroots” motto and they display that in their latest release.

The 14-song release begins with “Everybody,” a funk/R&B flavored song with some great positive lyrics, while “Everything” sounds more like a mainstream, pop/rock dance hit. The Black Eye Peas-type “Runnin’ Away” has the most potential with the help of vocalist Missy Modell. I love the addition of the acoustic guitars on “When It’s Over” as it draw influence from Michael Franti & Spearhead and on the positive message of “Smile.” The Higher Concept has a very radio-friendly sound with “Topanga” and show that they can also rock on “American Way.” The album closes with more positive vibes on “This Is For” as the musical trio reaches new heights in song-writing with this outstanding track.

For more information on The Higher Concept and their new album, “Everybody,” please visit their facebook page (

Also from New York is The Como Brothers Band with their debut EP, “The Speed Of Sound.” They hit it big when they were selected out of 20,000 bands to perform at the Vans Warped Tour is year in Uniondale, NY. They also have one of their infections rock tracks (“Can I Be Matched With You?”) from the new EP featured on an episode of MTV’s “The Real World.”

The trio of Matt Como, Andrew Como, and Dorian Costanzo has a great gasp on the pop/rock sound that is found all over modern radio. They show a fun, acoustic side to their songwriting on “You Are My World,” before heading back to the big beats and blazing guitars of “I Don’t Like You.” The album closes with “Can I Be Matched With You,” a love song with attitude.

The Como Brothers have a handful of dates scattered throughout the coming months. For more information, check out the band’s website at

From just north of the border comes the musical duo, Gitar with their full length debut album “Seen As Unclean.” The 12-song album begins with the flamenco, surf-guitar instrumental “Theme From Gitar.” Then the album takes a turn toward hypnotic beats and monotone vocals in “Eyes Of The World,” but then Gitar show us some raw, garage rock with “Different Fathers” and “Get Low.” The rest of the album takes on an 80’s alternative sound as the band returns to the monotone vocals and simple beats. Gitar end up closing the album with a return to the flamenco, lounge sounds of “Soaking Soul.”

For more information on Gitar and their new album “Seen As Unclean,” please visit their facebook page (

No comments: