Monday, October 8, 2012

CD Review: An Edgy Debut From Fear And The Nervous System

Original Korn guitarist James Shaffer recently released the self-titled debut album from his latest band, Fear And The Nervous System. The new band features Shaffer on guitar along with fellow Korn touring guitarist Leopold Ross, Faith No More bassist Billy Gould, Bad Religion drummer Brooks Wakerman, Repeater singer Steve Krolikowski and Korn keyboardist Zac Baird. The new album was released on September 18 through Ingrooves Fontana.

After a two minute instrumental welcomes you to “Hell,” the band kicks it into high gear on the album’s first single “Choking Victim.” The song has an edgy, hard hitting sound supplied by the rhythm section, then highlighted by Steve’s outstanding vocals. The attack continues with “Chosen Ones” and “No Secrets” before changing the tempos on the hard rock, power ballad “Beautiful Side.” Fear And The Nervous System bring all their talents together on the epic sounding, six-plus minute “Dissolve” that makes this band stand apart from other hard-rock acts. The album closes with the flowing balladry of “Ambien” as they stretch out the sound on their debut album.

For more information on the newly formed Fear And the Nervous System, please check out

No comments: