Monday, November 19, 2012

CD Review: Former Dokken Members Reunite For Some T&N

New powerhouse hard rock band T&N reunites “The Big Three” (George Lynch, Jeff Pilson, Mick Brown) from the eighties rock giant Dokken to create a supergroup within itself. The band just released their debut album “Slave To The Empire” on October 30 and it features seven original songs and five newly recorded versions of Dokken classics like “It’s Not Love” and “Kiss of Death.” The album also features guest appearances from Doug Pinnick (King’s X), Robert Mason (Warrant), Sebastian Back (Skid Row) and Tim “Ripper” Owens (Judas Priest).
The album begins with the drumming attack of Brian Tichy on the title song, “Slave To The Empire” as the song is just a blazing return to the hard rocking eighties. Their classic sound is heard on all the original songs like “Sweet Unknown” and “Rhythm of the Soul,” but it’s the remakes of the Dokken songs that make you sit up and take notice. Doug Pinnick’s vocals fit in perfectly on the fast-paced “Tooth and Nail,” while “Alone Again” sound more like a Skid Row cover from 1989 than a newly recorded version. T&N sound more energetic on the originals like “Mind Control” and “Access Denied” as they are out to prove they still can rock as hard as any band out there.
The new album is available now through Rat Pak Records ( For more information on this gathering of hard rock giants, be sure to visit the band’s facebook page (

No comments: