Sunday, November 4, 2012

CD Review: Matchbox Twenty Head "North" With New Album

American pop/rock band, Matchbox Twenty returned with their first new album of all new material in ten years. This past September saw the release of the band’s fourth studio album, “North” which debuted at #1 on the Billboard 200 Album chart. The album was produced by Matt Serletic, who produced all of Matchbox Twenty’s albums and was released through Emblem and Atlantic Records.
The new album begins with a just a simple guitar and Rob Thomas’ familiar voice on “Parade,” as if they were never gone for that long. The album’s first two singles (“She’s So Mean” and “Overjoyed”) reminds us how Matchbox Twenty crafts such infectious pop hits that are pure fun to listen to. The band ads some club beats to the dance floor on “Put Your Hands Up” before returning to rock on “Our Song.” The heartfelt ballad “I Will” just puts you at ease before the album builds back up to speed with “English Town” and “How Long.” The album closes with the mellow “Sleeping At The Wheel” as Thomas digs deep for his vocals.
Matchbox Twenty are finishing out the year with a few shows in Australia, but watch for more U.S. tour dates next year. For more information on their new album, “North” check out their website at

No comments: