Saturday, July 6, 2013

CD Review: Tool Drummer Gives New Life To Volto!

Progressive hard rock band Volto! will be releasing their new album, "Incitare" on July 23rd on Fantasy Records through the Concord Music Group. The nine-song instrumental album features Tool drummer Danny Carey, bassist Lance Morrison, guitarist John Ziegler and keyboardist Jeff Babko. The album's experimental hard rock sound draws upon the band's many influences including King Crimson, Yes and Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

As five of the nine songs push past the six-minute mark, Volto! really allows the listener to get wrapped up in the music. The guitar driven opener, "Grip It" is like the engines firing up, ready for take-off as John Z's fingers glide up and down the guitar's fret board. The sound expands on "Gillz" to a more space-rock sound with Babko's keyboards taking a lead role. The band's sound gets darker with Carey's tribal drumbeat keeping the tempo with flashes of John Z's guitar. The album's pinnacle track is the eight-and-a-half-minute "Drumbeaux" featuring an outstanding drum solo by Carey. The tempo changes in "BHP" shows diversity in the playing of these fine musicians. Volto! return to the space-rock on "Meltdown," before finishing the album with the more relaxed keyboard driven "I'm Calm Now."

Volto! will be performing a couple CD release shows out in California before heading to the east coast in August. To find out more about the band and their new album, "Incitare," please visit

No comments: