Friday, September 20, 2013

CD Review: MGMT Build Upon Their Indie-Rock Success With A New Album

Alternative psychedelic rockers MGMT released their third album on September 17th after a three year wait. The self-titled release is one of the most anticipated releases of the year, especially after fans received a glimpse into the new album on Record Store Day back in April. Songwriters Benjamin Goldwasser and Andrew VanWyngarden experimented with the songs in the studio to create some unique soundscapes that will make this album stand out amongst the others.

The album starts off with "Alien Days," which gets interesting during the fuzzed out guitar solo while a constant drum beat keeps time. The beats and rhythms of "Cool Song No. 2" showcases the experimentation that this band encounters when creating music together. The swirling sounds of "Introspection" and the electronic drumming of "Astro-Mancy" displays the diversity in MGMT's range of sounds. The album closes with the pop vocals of "Plenty Of Girls In The Sea" and the atmospheric soundscape of the Pink Floydian "An Orphan of Fortune."

MGMT are heading to Europe for a month of shows, beginning on September 26. For a complete list of dates and for information on the new album, please visit

No comments: