Monday, January 20, 2014

CD Review: Prog-Rockers Transatlantic Journey Into The "Kaleidoscope"

One of progressive-rock's most exciting new bands of the last decade has to Transatlantic. The band, featuring Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater), Neal Morse (ex-Spock's Beard), Roine Stolt (The Flower Kings) and Pete Trewavas (Marillion) have been heralded, since their beginnings, as modernizing the classic progressive rock sound. Their new album "Kaleidoscope" will be released on January 28th through Radient Records/Metal Blade Records followed by a world tour.

The new album contains only 5 songs. It begins with the opening twenty-five minute suite "Into the Blue," which brings up memories of the early days of King Crimson with its classic, non-overpowering journey through the music. It closes with the thirty-two minute title song that brings a grand finish to the album with its tempo changes and more aggressive rock feel. The middle of the album contains a few of the more traditional rock songs including the slow burning ballad "Shine" and the up-tempo classic rock of "Black As The Sky" which has everyone firing on all cylinders.

The new album will also be available as a 2CD set which includes a bonus CD of covers songs performed by the band. The tour kicks off on January 31st in the U.S. before they make their way over to Europe in March. To find out more about Transatlantic and their new album "Kaleidoscope," please visit

No comments: