Thursday, March 20, 2014

CD Review: Great New Music From Switchfoot, Young The Giant And Bad Things

California rock band Switchfoot recently released their ninth album on Atlantic Records entitled "Fading West." The album debuted at #6 on the Billboard Album Chart upon is release back in January and the album's first two singles ("Love Alone Is Worth The Fight" and "Who We Are") quickly burned up the single chart. The album became a soundtrack to the surfing documentary of the same name that also included footage of the band "behind the scenes."

The album begins strong with the two lead singles as the album quickly takes flight with the addictive chorus of "Who We Are." Songs like "When We Come Alive" and "Let It Out" have the arena rock feel, while the band experiment with a more pop sound on "Slipping Away." The album closes with "Back To The Beginning Again" that showcases Switchfoot's classic alternative rock appeal.

Switchfoot are currently on a U.S. tour that will last almost the entire summer. For a complete list of live dates and to find out more about the new album "Fading West," please visit

American Indie-Rock band Young The Giant return after a four year absence with their sophomore follow-up album "Mind Over Matter." The album was released back in January and debut at #7 on the Billboard Album Chart, topping their self-titled debut. It is also the band's first release on the Fueled By Ramen via Warner Bros. Records.

The new thirteen song release begins with the powerfully attractive rock of "Anagram" that has the band showing a maturity to their songwriting. The album's lead single "It's About Time" is just a blaze of rock goodness as their garage rock sound gets a little more polished. The album's second single "Crystallized" carries an aggressive pop rock sound while the band also show a more electronic feel to their music in "Mind Over Matter." Young The Giant feel their way through the ballads "Firelight" and "Camera," before rocking out on the post-punk of "Teachers" and the funkiness of "Paralysis."

Young The Giant are currently on tour, promoting the new album "Mind Over Matter." The tour includes a stop in Connecticut in June at The Dome at the Toyota Presents The Oakdale Theatre. For a complete list of live dates and for more information on the new album, please visit

Also new on the Warner Bros. Records label is the debut album from California rock band Bad Things consisting of Olympic gold-medalist, snowboarder Shaun White on guitar and former Augustana bassist Jarod Palomar. The band released their first single ("Anybody") back in August of 2013, following their live performance at Lollapolooza and released the album in January of this year.

The eleven song release begins with the album's lead-single, "Anybody" that shows elements of punk and alternative rock mixed with pop to create an attractive sound. The pulsating beat of "Haunting" and the dance floor feel of "Saturday Night" shows diversity on this album as they continue to hone their skills as a young new band. The album's second single "Caught Inside" shows a softer rock side to their side as they can easily capture the mainstream rock audience. The album finishes up with the irresistible ballad of "Bury," surrounded by the up-tempo rock of "Lonely Eyes" and "Say It Again."

To find out more about Bad Things and their new self-titled album, please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: