Thursday, March 27, 2014

CD Review: New Metal Music Rising From The Underground

One of the hottest new metal bands to arrive on the scene is Dead End Sky, lead by former Fiver Finger Death Punch vocalist Kyle Zemanek. The band is preparing to release their debut album and already received praise on the album's first two singles "Always" and "When You Fall."

The song "Always" maintains a great hard rock groove lead by some masterful guitar work from Rich Abronson, while Zemanek vocals give the song an edgier sound. The follow-up single, "When We Fall" hits harder, but also finds a more mainstream appeal with its pounding rhythm supplied by Dan Bartlett on bass and Masa Oishi on drums.

If these two songs are any indication of what's to come from Dead End Sky, then look for these guys to takeover the hard rock/metal airwaves. To find out more, please visit

From Brazil comes the debut release from heavy metal band Hellbenders. The new album is entitled "Brand New Fear" and was originally released in December of last year. This album has been two years in the making as the band divided their time between the studio and the road, performing alongside such bands as Exodus and Kyuss Lives. The band have also made their American debut at this year's SXSW festival.

The ten song release instantly shows the strength of the band's aggressive sound on the opener "Brand New Fear" as they are a new force to reckon with. Hellbenders showcase some classic eighties southern California metal swagger on "Whorehouse Murder," before getting the adrenaline pumping with "Hurricane." The duel guitar attack, pounding drums and screaming vocals of the "Escape Song" showcases exactly what this band is out to prove as an unstoppable force in metal music. The album finishes up with the head-banging motoring rhythm of "Holy Whiskey" and the vocal ripping attack of "Smashing Cars, Chasing Stars."

To find out more about Hellbenders please visit their Facebook page at

Nu-Metal band Apparitions are finally releasing the long-awaited follow-up, "Part 2: The Inferno." The album was delayed a few months, but was finally released on March 18 through Infamous Empire. It follows the strong debut album, "Kiss Me Sleeping" and is also a return to form following their acoustic EP.

The six song release comes out swinging with the hard-hitting vocal attack of "Where My Body Lies" as lead vocalist Alex Lee mixes in some melodic tones to balance the song. They continue with this formula as the chorus of "... For The Sake Of Breathing" is perfect for mainstream metal radio. They blast through "Picnic Basket Full Of Hand-Grenades" with punk-like fury, before heading to the close of the album with aggressive, machine-gun metal drumming and soaring vocals of "Animus Anonymous" and the re-make of "There's So Much Blood."

To find out more about Apparitions and the new album "Part 2: The Inferno," please visit their Facebook page at

From Cleveland, OH comes the debut EP from the death metal thrash band Treeweaver. The three-song album shows promise in the music, especially in the energetic, slightly chaotic romp of "Silencing Void Dweller." The vocals are almost none existent on this release, but they are not needed to feel the shear metal force of the closer "Ethereal Mountains."

To find out more about this new independent metal band, please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: