Saturday, March 15, 2014

CD Review: Riley Etheridge Jr. Puts His New Music On "The Straight And Narrow Way"

Singer/songwriter Riley Etheridge Jr. will be releasing his latest album "The Straight And Narrow Way" on March 18 through Rock Ridge Music. The album finds Etheridge feeling loose and free with the support from friends like Sara Watkins (Nickle Creek), Shane Theriot (Dr. John), Johnny Neel (Allman Brothers Band), Jim Keltner (Traveling Wilburys) and others.

The album begins with Americana rock of "Song For Amy" that shows Etheridge in a different light as he plugs to show off his live band. He heads into country territory on "Another Time, Another Place" as Sara Watkins' harmonies just match perfectly to the song's darker tone. Etheridge gets a little bluesy on the swampy sound of "Roll Away The Stone," before slowing down for the heartfelt ballad "The Maze (Of My Own Creation)." The album gets a little funky with the rhythm of Jim Keltner on drums and Calvin Turner on bass that allows Etheridge to explore another attractive musical avenue. The album closes with a return to the blues on "Down To My Last Twenty Dollars" as Etheridge solidifies his expertise with writing songs in any genre.

After a CD Release party on April 19 in New York, Riley Etheridge Jr. will be hitting the road with Leon Russell. For a complete list of live dates and for more information on the new album, please visit

No comments: