Friday, June 6, 2014

CD Review: After 40+ Years Together NRBQ Get Down To "Brass Tacks" On New Album

Classic rockers NRBQ (New Rhythm and Blues Quartet) arrive with their third album since their return in 2011. The new release entitled "Brass Tacks" joins over forty other albums that the band has releases throughout their 47 year career. With only one original member still in the band, they continue to crank out quality rock music that is missing from today's radio.

This latest twelve-song release begins with the sixties boogie-shuffle of "Waitin' For My Sweetie Pie," which leads into the up-tempo, psychedelic rocker "Greeting From Delaware." The sixties pop-feel of "Sit In My Lap" and the acoustic folk-style of "It'll Be Alright" showcases the diversity in their songwriting and passion for performing many different genre's of music styles. The full force of NRBQ is heard in the rockabilly attack of "This Flat Tire" and "I'm Not Here," before finishing with the stripped-down piano-led stomp of "Love This Love We Got."

NRBQ show no signs of slowing down with over a dozen live shows over the course of the next two months, beginning with Hygienic Art Park in New London, CT on June 12th. To find out more about their new album "Brass Tacks," please visit

No comments: