Tuesday, June 3, 2014

CD Review: Indie-Singer/Songwriters Shine With A Trio Of New Releases

From Los Angeles, CA comes the latest release from acclaimed singer/songwriter Spencer Day entitled "Daybreak." Spencer sprinkles some new original tunes amongst sixties favorites like The Association's "Never My Love" and the Young Rascals' "Groovin'." The album begins with a couple originals, including the album's first single "Missing Tonight," which has a smooth, seventies rock-vibe and the fun, up-tempo feel of "Naturally." His voice perfectly fits the pace of "Never My Love," while he turns "Bad Moon Rising" into a jazzy lounge number. The album closes a sweet acoustic rendition of The Beatles' "World Without Love" and the doo-wop, sixties love of "You Don't Know You're Lonely."

Spencer Day has some dates lined-up in California during the month of July. To find out more about Spencer Day's new album "Daybreak," please visit spencerday.com.
From, New Jersey comes the return of singer/songwriter Deena with her sophomore album "Rock River." As a founding member of the '80's indie-pop band The Cucumbers, Deena's songs have been recorded by the likes of Jackson Browne and Dar Williams. Now, with her debut album out of the way, Deena can expand on her alt-country, Americana sound. The new 12-song album begins with the clever stomp of "My Own Advice" as you can't help to follow Deena's vocals to the end of the earth. She sounds so sweet on the country feel of "Bring It All," before plugging in for the rockabilly fun of "All She Wrote." Her breakthrough country single should be "Always Tomorrow" as she mirrors a young Loretta Lynn. The album closes with solace of Deena's sweet voice on the broken hearted "When I Fall."

To find out more about Deena and her new album "Rock River," please visit deena.nfshost.com/.
From the Midwest comes the new release from singer/songwriter Mike Barnett entitled "Everybody Gets To Dream." The album was produced by Salim Nourallah (Old 97s) and features twelve songs that finds the root of rock 'n' roll music and simplifies it for all to enjoy. The album begins with the acoustic rock of "Who Love You Blue" as Barnett sounds like the missing member of The Jayhawks. The sound of "Late At Night" and "It Must Be Love" feels like a child of the sixties modernizing that period of "free love." Barnett break out the ukulele for the fun, spirited feel of "Heidi Surprise," and then gets his rock groove going with "Push Me Away." The album closes with the short, two-minute flashback to simpler times with "To You."

Check out Mike Barnett's new album "Everybody Gets To Dream" and his other albums at cdbaby.com/Artist/MikeBarnett1.

No comments: