Wednesday, June 25, 2014

CD Review: Summer Begins With New Releases From Metal Blade Records

Metal Blade Records is kicking off their summer with some exciting new releases from Channel Zero, Allegaeon and Goatwhore. Channel Zero returns with their sixth, and most powerful album "Kill All Kings." Recording for this album began last year, when drummer Phil Baheux was found dead from a ruptured artery. What seemed like the apparent end of the band, instead became the next chapter for Channel Zero, beginning with this latest release. The new twelve song album was released on June 24th and features a band with a renewed sense of purpose. Beginning with aggressive attack of "Dark Passenger," one wonders why this band ever called it quits in 1997 as the energy they inject into their music is so addictive. The album's lead single "Electronic Cocaine" is a chugging arena rocker that proves that this is a people's band. Franky's vocals are strong throughout the entire album, especially during the screaming chorus of "Burn The Nation." Filling in on the drums is Ray Mayorga (Stone Sour, Soulfly) and he does not disappoint as proven in "Crimson Collider" and "Mind Over Mechanics." The album closes with the Soundgarden-like, mainstream feel of "Heart Stop." To find out more about Channel Zero, check out
Next comes the new album from Allegaeon entitled "Elements Of The Infinite." This band has always given 110% to their music as each album showcases their growth in songwriting. This album also features new drummer Brandon Park and guitarist Michael Stancel, who replaced founding member Ryan Glisan. The new 10-song release comes blasting out of the gate with the grand, epic feel of "Threshold Of Perception." The machine gun drumming and graveling vocals of Ezra Haynes gives this death metal band the perfect ingredients for success with "Tyrants Of The Terrestrial Exodus." The speed and power of this five-piece band is felt by the sheer force of "1.618" and in the darkness of "Our Cosmic Casket." The album closes with the epic, twelve-minute progressive-metal journey of "Genocide For Praise - Vals For The Vitruvian Man." To find out more about Allegaeon, please visit their Facebook page at
Now if speed is what you're looking for, then check out the latest album from Goatwhore entitled "Constricting Rage Of The Merciless." This new release will make your ears bleed, beginning with the aggressive attack of "Poisonous Existence Of Reawakening" and keeping the pedal to the metal for "Unraveling Paradise." Guitars come out blazing for the punk-like furry of "FBS," before heading to the end with the more mainstream death metal of "Schadenfreude" and the final mind-blasting speed of "Externalize This Hidden Savagery." To find out more about Goatwhore and their latest release "Constricting Rage Of the Merciless," please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: