Monday, July 7, 2014

CD Review: Brand New Country Music From Legends And Newcomers

From Texas, comes brand new music from country music legend Billy Joe Shaver entitled "Long In The Tooth." It is his first studio album in over six years and features collaborations with Willie Nelson, Leon Russell, Tony Joe White and others. The album will be released on August 8th through Lighting Rod Records and according to Shaver it's "the best album I've ever done." The new ten-song album begins with Shaver and Willie Nelson trading lyrics on this Highwaymen-sounding country rocker "Hard To Be An Outlaw." Shaver still shows an edginess to his sound on the modern electrifying, hard-nosed attack of the title-song, before heading down the road for the country-blues of "The Git Go." The classically, fun appeal of "Last Call For Alcohol," showcases some of Shaver's best songwriting that harps back to his 1970's heyday. The album finishes with the heartfelt ballad of "I'm In Love" and the motoring gallop of "Music City USA" as Shaver's timeless vocals are impossible not to enjoy. To find out more about Billy Joe Shaver's latest album, "Long In The Tooth," please visit
Texas singer/songwriter Kelley Mickwee is finally releasing her debut solo album entitled "You Used To Live Here." After building her songwriting confidence as a member of the all-girl group the Trishas, Mickwee thought it was about time to create her own album, and she does not disappoint with this release. Beginning with "River Girl," the music just grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go as you get wrapped up in her sweet vocal harmonies. The country/Americana rhythm of "Take Me Home" and the country/blues shuffle of "You Used To Live Here" showcase her talents for writing songs that appeal the many avenues of country music. The strength of the slow-moving "Blameless" has "country hit" written all over it, while "Dark Side Of Town" shows that adventurous side to Mickwee's music that she's not afraid showcase.  The new album will be released on July 22nd through Red Distribution/Sony Music. To find out more about Kelley Mickwee and her new album, please visit
One of the newest voices in country music comes from the rising 18 year old singer/songwriter Mary Sarah. Her talents have been growing amongst the country music community and her respect as a singer is known through her latest album "Bridges." Most artists invite fellow singers to record with them to help revive their career, but Mary Sarah steps up to the plate as one of the first recordings of her early career. On the new 13-song album, Sarah invites country legends to share the mic with her on some of their biggest hits. Artists like Dolly Parton, Tanya Tucker, Willie Nelson, Ronnie Milsap and Merle Haggard lend their vocals to this outstanding recording that will be released on July 8th. Beginning with "Jolene," it is hard to tell the difference between Dolly Parton's vocals and Mary Sarah's, but with the song "Crazy," Sarah brings up memories of Patsy Cline as she duets with Willie Nelson. Mary Sarah and Tanya Tucker seem to have fun trading verses during "Texas (When I Die)," before Sarah allows her vocals to soar and become the highlight of the album on "Go Rest On That Height Mountain" with Vince Gill. The collaboration that began talks of doing this album was the song "Dream On" as The Oak Ridge Boys back-up Mary Sarah's amazing vocals and she sounds like she was born to sing the classic "Where The Boys Are," which she performs with Neil Sedaka. The album adds three bonus tracks including a duet with the late Freddie Powers on "All I Want To Do Is Sing My Song" and her only solo spot on "I'm Sorry" made famous by Brenda Lee. Mary Sarah only has a few shows in Texas on her touring schedule at the moment, but watch for new dates to be added once her album is released. To find out more about Mary Sarah and her new album "Bridges," please visit

No comments: