Tuesday, July 29, 2014

CD Review: New Independent Releases Blur The Lines Between Jazz Fusion And Prog-Rock

Two great, new exciting instrumental albums to be released on RareNoise Records come from the rock trio Interstatic and the four-piece jazz fusion band Indigo Mist. The new Interstatic album "Arise" carries nine songs with a very spacy-rock vibe, similar to recent day King Crimson, especially on the rhythm-heavy "Caerbannog." They get a little jazzier with the smooth guitar strumming of Jacob Young battling the Hammond organ solo of Roy Powell on "Alpha Dog," before going full-out rock on "Frank'll Fix It" featuring drummer Jarle Vespestad. The band plays around with tempos on "Wonderfall," before closing with experimental sound of the Pink Floydian "Doozy (reprise)." Interstatic will be releasing their new album "Arise" on August 4th. To find out more, please visit rarenoiserecords.com/interstatic.

Next up is the new album from Indigo Mist entitled "That The Days Go By And Never Come Again," which will also be released on August 4th. The ten-song release begins with the rhythm heavy drum session "L'Heure Bleue," which leads into the nine-minute slow build-up of "Indigo Mist." The piano piece "Billy" allows for Richard Karpen to put his talents on display, while trumpeter Coung Vu takes control of the classic jazz sound of "In A Sentimental Mood." The crashing instrumentation of "The Electric Mist" leads to the quiet experimentation of Duke Ellington's "Mood Indigo." To find out more about the new album from Indigo Mist, please visit rarenoiserecords.com/indigo-mist.

Finally, we get the new self-titled debut album from the electronic jazz fusion band Helio Parallax. The band is lead by the trio Takuya Nakamura (Quincy Jones), Josh Werner (Wu Tang, Lee "Scratch" Perry) and Marihito Ayabe (Dub Nomads). For this release, they decided to invite some special guest to perform on the album, beginning with the vocals of Louque on the club beat appeal of "Strange Dream." The dub step sound of "Kilgore Trout Dub" and the electronic beats of "Speed Of Life" along with the vocals of Major Lazer's Jahden Blakkamore gives the song a pulse that just rings through speakers and into your mind. They bring some jazziness into their sound with "Nocturne For Secret Planets" and "City Of Glass," before closing with the funky beats of "New Planet, Old Sun." To find out more about this new underground band, please visit mod-technologies.com/helioparallax.

No comments: