Wednesday, July 30, 2014

CD Review: New Music From Metal Blade Records Breathes New Life Into Metal Music.

From the ashes of the multi-million album selling juggernaut band, As I Lay Dying comes the new metal band Wovenwar featuring current and former members of As I Lay Dying. The band will be releasing their self-titled debut album on August 5 and it features fifteen hard-hitting songs that the band has been working on for the past two years with producer Bill Stevenson (Decendents, Black Flag). The band dives right into the attack of "Death To Rights" as their sound perfectly fits into the metal mainstream. The quick pace of "Tempest" and the dark tone of "The Mason" shows new, energetic life for these musicians. They slow the tempo down for only a moment for the beginning of "Father/Son," before kicking things into high gear with the screams of "Profane" and "Archers." The album closes with the aggressive undertaking of "Matter Of Time" and the solid metal appeal of "Prophets." Wovenwar are currently on tour with Kyng and Black Label Society before heading over to Europe in mid-August. For a complete list of dates and to find out more about the new album, please visit
Next up is the new album, "Maximum Overload" from the power metal band DragonForce which will be released on August 19th. It is the band's sixth album and features ten songs of non-stop metal energy, beginning with sheer force and speed of "The Game." There sound on this album has matured since becoming known in the mainstream as having the impossible final song from "Guitar Hero." Instead of trying to overpower you with how fast they can play, DragonForce have crafted songs for metal fans to really grab a hold of and enjoy. With only one song surpassing the six-minute mark, the songs on this album are concise as they get down to business on "No More." The rhythm goes into overdrive for "Symphony Of The Night," which feels like Mozart on Speed following by a six-pack of energy drinks, but it suits DragonForce's power metal sound perfectly. The band delivers one final blast of energy with "City Of Gold" and a cover of Johnny Cash's "Ring Of Fire" as you have never heard before. Metal Blade Records will also be releasing a "Special Edition" of the album that includes five bonus tracks and a DVD that documents the making of the album. To find out more about the new album "Maximum Overdrive," please visit

One more final album coming from Metal Blade Records is the sophomore follow-up from Trioscapes entitled "Digital Dream Sequence." Their debut release "Separate Realities" broke into the top ten on Billboard's Traditional Jazz album chart and hit #2 on the iTunes Jazz album chart. Their follow-up was written more for the live setting as the album begins with the adventurous sounds of the title-song. The music gets a little funkier with the  Zappa-vibe of "Stab Wounds," before exploring the atmospheric sound of "From The Earth To The Moon." The five-song album closes with the 15-minute clash of bebop jazz and hard rock appeal of "The Jungle." To find out more about Trioscapes, please visit

No comments: