Sunday, August 31, 2014

CD Review: Russia's MKRV Show Us The "W.A.Y." With Their New Release

The Russian duo of Dima Mokrov and Narek Arutyunyants, known as MKRV, self-released their full-length debut album "W.A.Y." on August 26th. After producing two EPs in Russia, the duo added a third member Bob Erin to help flesh out the music with his guitar talents and he also mix, mastered and produced the album. As a trio, their music has a modern alternative folk appeal that is soft and relaxing as the vocals look to soothe your troubles away.

The new eleven-song release begins with the acoustic strumming of "All This Time" that has a country feel as Bob's solo gives the song a bit of a pulse. They head into the soft rock of "Your Way Back Home" that definitely has the right elements in place for a radio hit, while "On The Road" has a Coldplay-type vibe. MKRV continue to play it safe, without straying from their formula with the gentle acoustics of "Never Look Back," before closing with rough recording of "You Are" as if it was taken from a vinyl recording with all the crackle and pops included. To find out more about MKRV, please visit

No comments: