Wednesday, September 3, 2014

CD Review: New Music To Check Out From The Jonathan Fox Band, Will Dailey And The Dunwells

Singer/songwriter Jonathan Fox has made a name for himself in his home state of Texas, touring alongside well-known country acts like the Randy Rogers Band and the Josh Abbott Band. Now, the Jonathan Fox Band will be releasing their second album on November 3rd entitled "20 Something Runaway." The music switches between country and blues rock with a rawness to the sound as displayed in the opener "Lonely Got The Better Of Me." He gets his southern swagger going with the rhythm of "My Own Drum," then slows the tempo down for the laid-back feel of "Someday." The second half of the album changes, beginning with the raw, punk-like fury of "Gotta Have Ya" which is a great White Stripes-like rocker. He shows off his guitar skills on "Just Five Minutes Ago," before closing with the rough blues of "Cut Me Loose." To find out more about the Jonathan Fox Band and their new album "20 Something Runaway," please visit

Next, from Boston comes the latest release from singer/songwriter Will Dailey entitled "National Throat." It is his most artistic album to date as he describes the making of this album as a "one of a kind process that involved his fans in the creation." The new eleven-song release begins with "Sunken Ship," which is based on a business deal gone bad and carries a reggae/rock feel, similar to was The Police produced throughout the eighties. The intensity picks up with "World Go Round" as Will Dailey shows he came to rock. His strength lies in his songwriting which shines on the smooth melody of "Castle Of Pretending" and also in "Rescue." The big sound of "Once In A Century Storm" has an even bigger chorus that gets trapped in your mind on repeat. Will gets a little bluesy on "Don't Take Your Eyes Off Of Me" as his guitar gets loose, before closing with the "feel good" acoustic sing-along retrospective "We Will Always Be A Band." To find out more about Will Dailey and his latest release "Nation Throat," please visit

Finally, from the U.K. comes the new digital EP from The Dunwells entitled "Show Me Emotion." It will be available on September 9th through Concord Records and shows that some of the band's best work is still on the horizon. Beginning with the title song, the Dunwell brothers (Joseph and David), along with cousins Robert Clayton and Jonny Lamb are bringing their brand of Americana music into the pop realm with the catchy chorus and a passion to their vocals. Their harmonies lead the way during "Sleepless Nights" as it is one of the more interestingly attractive songs on this new release, which closes with the straight-up pop feel of "The Best Is Yet To Come." To find out more about The Dunwells and their new release, "Show Me Emotion," please visit

No comments: