Tuesday, December 16, 2014

CD Review: The Great Affairs "Dream" Big With New Album

After a brief hiatus, The Great Affairs have returned with their fifth album in as many years. The new release entitled "Dream In Stereo" was released today and continues to showcase Denny Smith as one of the top independent singer/songwriters in music. Since the last album, The Great Affairs have also acquired a new rhythm section which included vocalist Kenny Wright to help out on harmonies. The new thirteen song release shows diversity in the music beginning with blazing blues/rock of "Left Of Me," before moving on to the country rock of "The Next Three Minutes" and "California." They rock hard with the big guitar riffs of "Secret's A Secret," before returning with the country power ballad "I Can't Sleep Alone." The album closes with the gentle acoustics of "The Highway" and a cover of Dave Mason's "We Just Disagree," which highlights the band's wonderful harmonizing. To find out more about The Great Affairs and their latest album "Dream In Stereo," please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/thegreataffairs.

No comments: