Wednesday, April 8, 2015

CD Review: New Music From Underground Hard Rock/Heavy Metal Acts Venrez, Defy All Reason And Whiskeydick

There is a trio of new underground rock releases that you will need to check out. First up is the Los Angeles band Venrez with their latest album entitled "Children Of The Drones."The band enjoyed their time on the road, opening for Slash, Alice Cooper, Buckcherry and Hardcore Superstar and took that energy into the studio for their latest ten-song release. The album begins with dark, grunge-like guitars of "Hang On Predator," which carries an Alice In Chains-type sound. They ramp up the volume with the title song "Children Of The Drone," then head down the mainstream to "Salvation," which captures the full intensity of the band's performance. They return to the "Seattle hard rock/grunge" sound with "20th Reason," before closing the album with heavy bashing of "Spin The Top" and the dark buzz tones of "Sacred Blood." To find out more about this latest release from Venrez, please visit
Also new next month is the latest heavy metal thunder from Welsh rockers Defy All Reason. The new album entitled "The Road Ahead" will be self-released on May 11th. The new thirteen-song release begins with the crunching guitar riffs of "Midnight Train" and the adrenaline pumping "Bad Blood," before slowing everything down for the ballad "Behind Those Eyes." They slowly build up the intensity in "Finding My Way (Back To You)," then hit the hard rock groove of "Shame" with guitars blazing. Defy All Reason inject an extra boost of energy into Bon Jovi's arena rocker "Wanted Dead Or Alive" and display their radio friendly sound with "The Only One." To find out more about the latest release from Defy All Reason, please visit
Now, to shift gears to the latest release from the acoustic country/metal band WhiskeyDick entitled "Welcome To Yeehaw Country." This is not your typical country band, nor your typical metal band as WhiskeyDick keep the speed of heavy metal, but deliver it with a country twang as in the opener "Redemption." One of the weirdest combinations is the dark, doom sounding vocals of "Yee Haw," amongst a bluegrass strumming rhythm. They bring in an electric guitar for an amazing solo during "HE!P," while "Drunk As Hell" fits their style perfectly as the lyrics match the song's dark tone. The album finishes up with the quick strumming of "Gun Totin Rebel Son" and the heart-felt honor of "Fallen - Heroes." They new album from WhiskeyDisk comes out April 27th. To find out more about it, please visit

No comments: