Tuesday, May 12, 2015

CD Review: Guitarist Come Alive With New Albums From Jeff Beck And Def Leppard's Phil Collen's New Band

Legendary guitarist Jeff Beck is currently in the midst of a U.S. tour which runs until the end of May. He is also releasing a new live album entitled "Live +" through Atco Records in association with Rhino Entertainment. The new album features fourteen live songs recorded at various locations from his 2014 tour. Also included are two brand-new studio songs with guest vocalists Ruth Lorenzo and Veronica Belino. Beginning with the blistering solo of "Loaded," Jeff Beck just takes off and shows no signs of slowing down. The album is a good representation of his concert, as he mixes together amazing guitar instrumentals with lyrical songs with vocals supplied by Jimmy Hall. Beck dives back to the late-sixties with the bluesy "Morning Dew," before his backing band showcases their talents in "You Know You Know." A must listen for this live album are Jeff Beck's renditions of "A Change Is Gonna Come" and "A Day In The Life," which won Jeff Beck a Grammy award, but his sizzling take of Hendrix's "Little Wing" is simply inspiring. Jeff Beck gets to open up on "Big Block," before the live part of his new album closes with the hard rock groove of "Going Down." The studio tracks show a new fire brewing in the belly of Jeff Beck as he rips through the new instrumental "Tribal" and the more radio-friendly feel of "My Tiled White Floor." For a complete list of tour dates and to find out more about Jeff Beck's latest release "Live +," please visit jeffbeckofficial.com.

It is always great when established artists continue to evolve and find new interests in other types of music. The latest "supergroup" of musicians do just that by incorporating the southern blues into the Delta Deep. The band features Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen, Stone Temple Pilots bassist Robert DeLeo and drummer Forest Robinson (India Arie) all supporting the amazing vocals of Debbi Blackwell-Cook. The new eleven-song release begins with Collen blazing a trail through the swamp lands with the raw guitar riffs of "Bang The Lid." The slow blues come pouring through your speakers with "Whiskey," before the band blasts off again with the hard grind of "Down In The Delta." The album also includes some guests that you may have heard of like David Coverdale dueting with Ms. Blackwell-Cook on the southern swing "Private Number" and Joe Elliott screaming along to the blues guitar clinic led by his bandmate Phil Collen on the album closer "Mistreated." The new self-titled album from Delta Deep will be released on June 23rd through Mailboat Records. Also look for Phil Collen and Joe Elliott on tour with Def Leppard this summer. To find out more about the album, please visit deltadeep.net.

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Time is one of the most precious and expensive thing in this world so value your time wisely because you can't flashback every wasted time at the past. Time is gold. Visit my site for more information.