Monday, May 4, 2015

Vinyl Review: Drivin' N Cryin' Take The "Best Of Songs" For Vinyl-Only Compilation

Last year, the band Drivin' n Cryin' looked back on their 30 year career with the documentary "Scarred But Smarter." They also released a bunch of EPs going back to 2012 with "Songs From The Laundromat." Plowboy Records has gathered the best of those EPs into a vinyl only release entitled "Best of Songs" to be released on May 12th.
The band's last full-length release was 2009's "Great American Bubble Factory" and they decided that it would be better to release a five to six song album every year, instead of waiting to compile enough songs for a full length album. Thus, began their "Songs Of ..." EP series. This new 10-song compilation gathers the "best of" those EPs into a full-length record, beginning with the raw rocker "Hot Wheels" off of the "Songs About Cars, Space and The Ramones." Also features from this EP on this compilation is the punk-like, garage-rock energy of "Out Here In The Middle Of Nowhere" and the Californian surf-guitar instrumental "Space Eyes." The earliest songs on this new release are the energetic rockers "Dirty" and "Ain't Waitin' On Tomorrow" along with their homage to fellow Georgia band, R.E.M. with a song of the same name. Only one tune from their 2013 EP "Songs From The Psychedelic Time Clock" is featured on this release as the song "The Little Record Store Around The Corner" fits in the best alongside these other great numbers. Their most recent EP, "Songs For The Turntable" is featured with three songs, including the most mainstream rockers "Turn" and "Roll Away The Song," along with the Tom Petty-feel of "Strangers."
Drivin' n Cryin' are currently on the road in Europe, but will be hitting the states again for some dates in May, June and July. To find out more about this new vinyl-only compilation "Best Of Songs," please visit

No comments: