Tuesday, July 14, 2015

CD Review: Check Out New Music From Independent Rockers Owl, Estrella And Fierce Justice

Arriving at the end of July is the third release from the rock band Owl entitled "Things You Can't See." Led by Chris Wyse (The Cult/Ace Frehley Band) on bass and vocals, this trio has a great hard rock sound that finds its way into your mind as each song grows in shear force and intensity. The short, six-song EP begins with the title song "Things You Can't See" as the song's chorus explodes with power that will have you headbanging along in no time. The album's lead single "Who's Gonna Save You Now" carries a deep bass groove that opens up into the stomping rhythm of "Star Up." The album closes with the heavy metal guitar screams of "Witch's Familiar" and the quieter acoustic delivery of "Alive." Owl will be performing a few shows in New England before heading to California for a couple more. To find out more about the band Owl and their new album "Things You Can't See," please visit owltheband.net. 

Scottish rock band Estrella recently released their latest album "We Will Go On," following this year's appearance at Download Festival, which was headlined by Kiss, Muse and Slipknot. Their new eleven-song release has a lot of mainstream hard rock appeal, beginning with the uptempo, sing-along chorus of "Here I Am," co-written by Uriah Heap's John T. Sinclair. Their sound pulls in all the right elements for rock radio success with a nod to the days of late-eighties metal with "Wheels Keep Turning" and "Hold On," while showing they can rock as hard as anyone with the attractive, pounding drums of "We Will Go On." Estrella venture to far into the pop/rock territory with "Be There," but then coming roaring back to close the album on high note with "Undercover Lover" and the gentle ballad "My Own Way." To find out more about Estrella and their latest release "We Will Go On," please visit estrellarocks.com.
Norwegian metal band Fierce Justice recently released their self-titled EP back in May. The new five song release has a retro feel as the band pulls together all their early heavy metal influences to create truly great music. Beginning with the intense "Behind The Thoughts," they get your adrenaline pumping, before heading into the mystical Dio-like feel of "Leap Of Faith." They push the rhythm into overdrive on "Spineless," before finishing the album with two versions of the addictive hard rock of "Bad Lucy," which really showcases the band's metal talents. To find out more about Fierce Justice, please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/FierceJusticeBand.

No comments: