Thursday, August 6, 2015

CD Review: eOne Music Heats Up The Summer With New Releases From Pop Evil, Dark Sermon And Burn Halo

Hard rock band Pop Evil have continued to grow since their major label debut seven years ago. They have toured with everyone, from Tesla to Drowning Pool to 3 Doors Down and continue to build their fanbase with great live shows and irresistible hard rock riffs. Their latest release "Up" will be available on August 21st through eOne Music and features producer Adam Kasper (Pearl Jam, Foo Fighters) behind the knobs. The new thirteen-song album begins with the stomping rhythm of "Footsteps" as their music takes a turn for the mainstream with the highly addictive chorus. They return to their edgy sound in "Core" and lay down some great guitar solos in "In Disarray" and "Lux." They continue to invade the pop-rock side of their sound with "If Only For Now," then come roaring back with the heavy hitting of "Vendetta." The album closes with slow-building, epic feel of "Til Kingdom Come." Pop Evil are currently on tour, which will run into October. To find out more about their new album "Up," please visit
Next, from Tampa, FL comes the return of the death metal band Dark Sermon with their latest release "The Oracle." It will also be released on August 21st through eOne Music/Good Fight Music. Their music may be dark, but their energy is on full blast. The new ten-song release begins with the electrifying guitars and howling vocals of the adrenaline fueled "Ode To The Black Widow" and "The Myth Of Sanity." They strike a deep metal groove with "Rat King," before hitting a heavy progressive metal attack of "Starve." The new album finishes up with more progressive metal of the six-minute adventure of "The Wraith" and the slow-moving death metal appeal of "Gargantua." To find out more about Dark Sermon and their latest release "The Oracle," please visit their Facebook page at
Finally, it has been over four years since we last heard from the California hard rock band Burn Halo, but on September 4th, they will release their third full-length album "Wolves Of War" through eOne Music. They have experienced a number of line-up changes over that span as lead singer James Hart and lead guitarist Joey Roxx are excited to bring new music to their fans. The new eleven-song release begins with the intense rhythmic drive of the title song, which should get the adrenaline pumping. Burn Halo continue to generate high-energy music that is tailor-made for the masses of fans as displayed in "Don't Think You Know" and "Dying Without You." Their speed and aggressiveness is not lost as shown in "Home," before slowing down for the passionate delivery of "Will To Live." The album closes with the nearly eight-minute progressive metal adventure of "You Are The Damned." Burn Halo will be venturing on a 29-date headlining tour at the beginning of September. To find out more about their new album "Wolves Of War," please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: