Friday, August 28, 2015

CD Review: New Music From Metal Blade Records Artists Act Of Defiance, The Black Dahlia Murder And Blood Divisions

From California comes the debut album from heavy metal band Act Of Defiance entitled "Birth And The Burial." It is the latest project from former Megadeth guitarist Chris Broderick, who invited along fellow Megadeth drummer Shawn Drover and Shadows Fall bassist Matt Banchand to join him. The lead vocals on the album were provided by former Scar The Martyr singer Henry Derek, who was chosen out of 30 or so heavy metal vocalist to complete this heavy metal supergroup. The new ten-song release begins with the appropriately titled song "Throwback," as their sound certain gives you a feeling of the early thrash metal days as the band's shear force will blow you away. They mix-up the tempo with the dark tones of "Legion Of Lies," but they never let up with the fast-paced attack of "Thy Lord Belial" and "Dead Stare." Act Of Defiance does lets up on the speed momentarily to feature the amazing musicianship of "Poison Dream," led by Broderick's amazing fretboard work. The album finishes with the title song "Birth And The Burial," which actually sounds the most like Broderick and Drover's former band. To find out more about Act Of Defiance and their latest release "Birth And The Burial," please visit their Facebook page at

One of the top death metal bands in the world, The Black Dahlia Murder, return with their latest release on Metal Blade Records entitled "Abysmal." The band's popularity has grown with each new album and this one is sure not to disappoint. Beginning with the thunderous, machine-gun rhythm of "Receipt," the music gets thrown into overdrive right from the start. They blast their way through "Vlad, Son Of The Dragon," while the title-song "Abysmal" delivers the perfect death metal anthem. They get the adrenaline pumping with the quick-pace of "Threat Level No. 3," then bring on the slow-paced "Stygiophobic" in order to showcase their diversity. The album closes with the grand death metal delivery of "That Cannot Die Which Eternally Is Dead." The Black Dahlia Murder will be heading up to Canada in October before hitting some dates in the U.S. To find out more about their new album "Abysmal," please visit
Finally, we get the new two-song EP from the heavy metal supergroup Blood Divisions, lead by vocalist Chris Jericho. The album features members from bands like Nasty Savage, Testament, Obituary, Six Feet Under and others. Both songs on this release are covers, the first being the Nasty Savage track "The Morgue." Nasty Savage guitarist Dave Austin asked Jericho to lay down the vocals for this nine-minute goth-metal epic number. The other song is an almost spot-on rendition of The Scorpions' classic "Top Of The Bill" from their 1976 album "In Trance." Proceeds from the sale of this EP will benefit the Rock & Rescue charity. To find out more about Blood Divisions, check out their Facebook page at

No comments: