Wednesday, September 23, 2015

CD Review: Metal Blade Records Ignites The Fire With New Music From Harlott, Grave Pleasures And Denner/Shermann

Metal Blade Records continues to crank out new albums every month from bands that deserve your attention. One of the recently released albums that is definitely worth checking out is the latest from hardcore thrash Australian metal band Harlott. Their new album "Proliferation" was released on September 18th and they are following that with a 34-date European tour. The new twelve-song album begins with the thunderous bashing of the title song, before heading into the adrenaline rush of "Denature," motored by the speed drumming of Tim Joyce. The intensity continues to build with the fast pace of "Systematic Reduction" and the quick-ripping guitar riffs of "Lord Of War." The musicianship shines on the epic feel of "Hellbent," before closing with the classic thrash metal feel of "Legion" and the reckless attack of "Means To An End." To find out more about Harlott and their new album "Proliferation," please visit their Facebook page at
Next up is the new EP from former Merciful Fate band members Michael Denner and Hank Shermann. Their new album is titled "Satan's Tomb" and will be released on October 2nd. As you would have guessed, the album is heavy on guitars, while lead singer Sean Peck amazes with his vocal range. The new four-song album begins with the new five-piece band incorporating their classic Merciful Fate-style of metal into the opener "Satan's Tomb." The six-minute epic, "New Gods" and the progressive metal appeal of "Seven Skulls" shows that this band has the right chemistry to create some great new heavy metal music. To find out more about Denner/Shermann and the new album "Satan's Tomb," please visit their Facebook page at
Finally we get to the debut release from Swedish metal band Grave Pleasures entitled "Dreamcrash." With all the band members coming together from other underground metal acts, lead singer Mat McNerney has high hopes for this latest group. Having signed with Metal Blade Records in May of this year, Grave Pleasures wasted no time recording and releasing their album. The new eleven song release begins with "Utopian Scream" as the musicianship is amazing, while McNerney's vocals guide your way through. Grave Pleasures combine their influences of black metal with 90's hard rock and 80's new wave punk to create some refreshing sounds as with "New Hip Moon" and "Futureshock." The album finishes with post-punk appeal of "Girl In A Vortex" and The Cure-like feel of "No Survival." To find out more about Grave Pleasures and their new album "Dreamcrash," please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: