Sunday, January 10, 2016

CD Review: Heavy Metal Band Megadeth Bring Us To "Dystopia"

California thrash metal band Megadeth will be releasing their 15th studio album, "Dystopia" on January 22nd through T-Boy Records, a sublet of the Universal Music Group label. The new album welcomes Kiko Loureiro on guitar, along with Chris Adler (Lamb Of God) on drums and the result is a new exciting, energetic sound added to the evolution of Megadeth.

The new eleven-song release begins with the vicious guitar introduction that leads into the intense opener "The Treat Is Real." New guitarist Loureiro wastes no time introducing himself with an electrifying solo. While lead singer's Dave Mustane's screaming vocals may have diminished, the power and accuracy in his singing still hits its mark on "Fatal Illusion." Mustaine is one of the masters of balancing his sound between thrash and progressive metal with the exceptional musicianship as in "Death From Within" and "Poisonous Shadows." The classical guitar intro of "Conquer Or Die!" quickly gets overtaken by some amazing soloing from newcomer Kiko Loureiro. The album finishes with the thunderous attack of "Lying In State" as the band moves into overdrive, before the short, quick precise delivery of "Foreign Policy."

Megadeth are hitting the road for the next five months beginning February 20th in Texas, before they make their way to the Download Festival and Hellfest in June. To find out more about their new album "Dystopia," please visit

No comments: