Thursday, January 14, 2016

CD Review: New Music From Indie-Artists Andrew Adkins, Sarah Petrella, Sophia Radisch, Jade Mya

From Nashville comes the latest album from country singer/songwriter Andrew Adkins titled "Glass Castles." It features thirteen songs soaked in classic Americana, blues and country music filled with great lyrics and steady rhythms. Beginning with the swing of "Freeborn Heart," Andrew's voice has a familiarity to it that attracts you to his sound. He introduces a bluegrass texture to "The River In All Of Us" and showcases his influence of The Band on the folk/rock story of "The Ballad Of Wayne WV." The great build-up of "Consisting Of Love" shows the true potential in Andrew's songwriting as the feeling of hope swells within the song's delivery. He seems to have the most fun when he quickens the pace as in the up-tempo fun of "Old Coal Town" and "Jubilee (Land Of The Free)." To find out more about Andrew Adkins and his latest release "Glass Castles," please visit

Californian singer/songwriter Sarah Petrella recently released her latest EP titled "Seasons." She mixes in elements of country and rock with her folk-style songwriting to create these epic sounding songs. The new five-song album begins with the powerfully intense rock number "Dancing With The Devil" as Sarah puts everything into her performance. She pulls back the reigns a bit on the country acoustic strumming of "What Am I Waiting For" with subtle hints of banjo to give the song its spark and then struts her stuff on the explosive chorus of "Change." The album's lead single "Mr. Mystery" shows off Sarah's sweet side with her innocent sounding vocals that swell up in this new folk/rock gem that needs to be uncovered. Check out her video for the single on YouTube. To find out more about Sarah Petrella and her latest release "Seasons," please visit

From Canada comes the sophomore release from rising teen rock singer/songwriter Sophia Radisch titled "Beautiful Sin." The album was produced by former Megadeth guitarist Glen Drover, who also appears on the album along with fellow ex-Megadeth member Shawn Drover on drums. It features 13 soulful rock songs, beginning with the beautiful, smooth acoustic strumming of "Come Around," before getting bluesier on the harder edged "Closed Doors." The tempo picks up on the alternative rocker "Give Me A Soul" and the fun power pop/rock feel of "Hot Blooded." Her sweet, soulful voice shines on "Saint" and swings on the rock ballad "Shiver," before closing with the steady delivery of "Sweet Injustice." To find out more about Sophia Radisch and her latest album "Beautiful Sin," please visit

Canadian country artist Jade Mya recently released her new EP, "Nashville Covers." It features four songs that have been recently performed on the hit TV show "Nashville." She released her debut single back in October and is quickly rising up the ranks to country superstardom. Jade pours her all into the country rock of "This Love Ain't Big Enough" and adds an extra sultry swing to "Lies Of The Lonely," but her heart and soul is felt in the gentle delivery of "Stronger Than Me." Jade will be touring Canada beginning January 23rd. For a complete list of dates and to find out more about Jade Mya, please visit her website at

No comments: