Monday, January 18, 2016

CD Review: New Music From Progressive Rockers Odin's Court And SkyTalk Along With Guitarist Todd Grubbs

From Maryland comes the latest album from the progressive metal band Odin's Court titled "Deathanity (R3)." It is a re-release of their 2008 breakthrough album "Deathanity" with newly recorded vocals and a remixed sound to the album to give it a more modern sound. The musicianship on this album is top-notch as Odin's Court look to draw you in with the opening instrumental "Terracide" and keep you excited with their amazing solos in "Mammanific" and "Esoterica." They recreate Friedrich Schiller's "Ode To Joy," turning the double-bass drums into a heart pumping masterpiece. The album closes with the prog-metal excitement of "Cosmosera" and the classical appeal of "Vastificant." To find out more about Odin's Court and the latest release "Deathanity (R3)," please visit their Facebook page at

From the warm sunny shores of Tampa, FL comes the latest album from guitarist Todd Grubbs titled "As The Worm Turns." It is his first primary vocal album and was funded by a Kickstarter program last summer. The new eleven-song release features Todd's iconic progressive guitar throughout with guest vocalists, beginning with Zack Stevens (Savatage) on the intense rocker "The Man In The Hat." Todd turns on the alt-country charm with newcomer Emily Velasco belting out the vocals of "The Other Side Of Forever," then lays down the swamp guitar boogie of "Living The Good Lie" as Todd Plant gives the song an authentic southern rock swing. Grubbs goes acoustic for the folk storytelling tale of "Johnstown," before closing with songstress Melanie Sims on the ballad "Fabric Of The Day" and the raw, garage rock delivery of "Escape From You." To find out more about Todd Grubbs and his new album "As The Worm Turns," please visit his Facebook page at

From New York City comes the debut EP from the progressive rock trio SkyTalk titled "Days In The Sun." It features the great musicianship of twin brothers Jordan and Taloy Steinberg, along with Dan Costello, who met while attending Purchase College. They shared a love for classic progressive rock bands like Yes and Rush and found a chemistry and common goal in their collaboration. The new five-song release begins with the funky wizardry of the title song "Days In The Sun" as the music excites more than the vocals. They add some of their progressive influences into the enticing "Fall Awake," before finishing with the bright, energetic power rock delivery of "Foot Traffic." To find out more about SkyTalk, please visit their Facebook page at

No comments: