Saturday, January 23, 2016

CD Review: Omnivore Recordings Releases Lost Alan Price Album

English musician Alan Price was a founding member of the British rock/blues band The Animals, before finding success as a solo artist in 1966 with a cover of the Screamin' Jay Hawkins classic "I Put A Spell On You." To this day, Price still continues to perform as a solo artist and he did partake in three reunion tours with The Animals. Alan Price was also the focus of one of the "lost masterpieces" of rock music when his 1974 studio album "Savaloy Dip" was recorded by never released...until now. On January 15th, Omnivore Recordings finally releasing the Alan Price album "Savaloy Dip: Words & Music By Alan Price."

It features eleven funked fueled, R&B/rock songs that might seem outdated next to some of today's music, but fit the perfect mold for 1974. Beginning with "Smells Like Lemon, Tastes Like Wine," the music's shuffle-rhythm is highlighted with horns as Price's words are fun and exciting. He takes on the blues with a New Orleans, Dr. John-style of "Willie The Queen" and can tell a story as good as anyone with "Poor Jimmy." He plays to his strength with the keyboard-driven "Keep On Doin' It," and delivers a couple pop gems with "Passin' Us By" and "And So Goodbye." To find out more about the newly released "Savaloy Dip: Words & Music By Alan Price," please visit

No comments: