Friday, January 22, 2016

CD/Digital Review: New Children's Music From Laurie Berkner, Diana Panton & Hullabloo

One of the biggest selling artists of children's music is Laurie Berkner and she has been a mainstay in the genre for almost twenty years. Her music has been featured in numerous television show and commercials and she is preparing to release her latest album entitled "Love," just in time for Valentine's Day. This digital compilation gathers 16 of Berkner's favorite songs about "Love" from her eight best-selling, best-loved albums and the music has been remastered for this ideal release. Beginning with "Open Your Heart," Berkner decided that many of her songs deal with the subject of "love" so to gather them together was a no-brainer. She is very playful with song like "I Love My Rooster," "My Family" and "Froggie West A-Courtin'." She touches your heart with the gentle flow of "Smile" and "Lullabye," but one of her originals that has become a classic with parents is "Under A Shady Tree." She adds on two bonus tracks about the love of sweets like the jazzy sing-along "Choc-o-lot In My Pock-o-lot" and the acoustic strumming of the "The Cookie Bakers Of The Night." Two Tomatoes Records will be releasing this compilation digitally on January 29th. To find out more about Laurie Berkner and her music, please visit
Canadian vocalist Diana Panton will be releasing her new album "I Believe In Little Things" on March 18. It features a mix of classic children's songs from Disney, Sesame Street, The Muppets, Willy Wonka and others. Her voice is so pure and gentle that it is a very peaceful, jazzy album that is perfect to sooth a child's nerves and even reminds parents how lovely these songs were growing up. Highlights of new fourteen song album is Panton's delivery of Kermit's "Rainbow Connection" that just has a wonderful warm tone. Her voice for "When You Wish Upon A Star" puts your mind right back to early childhood memories and the playful "Everybody Sleeps" has just the right amount of jazz influence that feels timeless. The album finishes with the perfect setting of the quiet "Hushabye Mountain" and "Slumber My Darling." To find out more about Diana Panton and her latest release "I Believe In Little Things," please visit
California duo Steve Denyes and Brendan Kremer vowed that for 21 days in February 2015 that they would write, record and release a song a day. They have taken the best of those 21-songs and released them as the latest album from Hullabloo titled "I Chew." The new 16-song album features on the spot creations that are fun, short and easy to remember. Highlights include the folk strumming of "Air-O-Plane" and their funny ode to the color pink with "I Wear Pink." One of the more mature songs on this release is the one-minute love song "Lucky Stars" that shows so much heart, while "Shake, Shake, Shake" is just full of energy that makes you want to get up and dance. To find out more about Hullabloo and their new album "I Chew," please visit

No comments: