Friday, April 29, 2016

CD Review: The Security Project Take On Peter Gabriel With "Live 1"

This newly formed supergoup The Security Project, will be releasing their first album "Live 1" in May. The band consists of Trey Gunn (King Crimson), Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel), Michael Cozzi (Peter Gabriel), David Jameson (Tin Machine) and singer Brian Cummins. Cummins has been touring with his Genesis tribute group, The Carpet Crawlers before the members of The Security Project contacted him with the idea of performing the work of Peter Gabriel in an intimate live setting.

Their new twelve-song live album is pure wonder. Listening to this, you would think that Peter Gabriel, himself was fronting this supergroup. The album begins with Gabriel's 1982 song "Lay Your Hands On Me" as the band sticks close to this original tone of this hidden solo Gabriel gem. This new release features four other songs from Gabriel's iconic 1982 album as The Security Project deliver an amazing version of "I Have The Touch." The Security Project stretches the songs "San Jacinto" and "The Family And The Fishing Net,"a couple of Gabriel classics, past the seven-minute mark. Brian Cummins brings the youthfulness of Gabriel's original tunes perfectly into this live setting with the rest of the band following his lead right up until the album closer "Biko."

The Security Project are touring the west coast during the second half of May. For a complete list of shows and to find out more about their new album "Live 1," please visit

1 comment:

David Binder said...

Nice, albeit brief review of a great album.

However, a fact that need revision: You say, in addition to "Lay Your Hands on Me," that Live 1 has three additional tracks from does not; it has four, making it a total of five: Lay Your Hands on Me; The Family and the Fishing Net; I Have the Touch; The Rhythm of the Heat; and San Jacinto.