Wednesday, May 18, 2016

CD Review: New Rock Imports From Italy's Armonite And Brazil's Marcelo Paganini

First, from Italy comes the debut album from the progressive rock ensemble Armonite. The new release titled "The Sun Is New Each Day" features nine instrumental tracks that feature an exciting, worldly feel to the music. Beginning with "Suitcase War," the rhythm is intense as violinist Jacopo Bigi takes the lead with his instrumentation throughout this collection. Quick jolts of violin highlight the keyboard-heavy track "G As In Gears" as Samuel Gomper's speech becomes the only vocals on this release. The gentle beginning of "Slippery Slope" makes this song one of the highlights of the album as the music's intensity continues to builds. The short 30-minute album closes with the piano/violin balladry of "Le Temps Qui Fait Ta Rose" and the band's tribute to the coin-operated arcade games of the 80's with "Insert Coin." To find out more about Armonite and their latest release "The Sun Is New Each Day," please visit

Next, from Brazil comes the latest release from guitar virtuoso Marcelo Paganini titled "First Time In Rio - The Marcelo Paganini Band Live." It is the soundtrack to the documentary which covered Marcelo Paganini's return to Brazil for a tour in December 2014. The new six-song release begins with the eight-minute, Pink Floydian adventure of "Sphinxes Of Babel," as Paganini's guitar playing is prog-rock gold. His twelve-minute live version of "Somewhere Somehow" contains inspired elements of King Crimson as he combines rock and jazz in this clash of genres, before returning to the song again later on in the soundtrack. The album closes with more of Marcelo Paganini's exceptional guitar skills on display in "Trinidade." To find out more about Marcele Paganini and his latest audio release "First Time In Rio - The Marcelo Paganini Band Live," please visit

No comments: