Thursday, June 30, 2016

CD Review: New Albums Arriving From Holon, Mia Doi Todd And Miss Sophie Lee

From Norway comes the debut album from singer/songwriter Ronny Pedersen know as Holon. The new release titled "The Time Is Always Now" will be released on August 12 through Autumnsongs Records. It features eight songs, beginning with the progressive rock/folk feel of the nine-minute "The Belly Of Being." His music carries a free, 60's era, acoustic rock without the boundaries or structures of typical song layout as "Falling" and "Time To Go" push past the ten-minute mark. Holen receives contributions on this album from fellow musicians Lars Fredrick Froislie, Silje Leirvik, Geir Anfinn Halland Johansen, as well as from the album's producer Rhys Marsh. The music will definitely take you on a journey as you listen through the sonic landscape of "The Time Is Always Now" and the album closer "A Drop Of Me." To find out more about Holon and his debut release "The Time Is Always Now," please visit his Facebook page at

From Los Angeles comes the latest release titled "Songbook" from singer Mia Doi Todd. The new nine-song release features songs written by some of her favorite artists that she has has been performing live for many years. Beginning with Neil Young's "Only Love Can Break Your Heart," Mia adds an innocence to the lyrics as she delivers the words with grace and emotion. The Cure's "Close To Me" and Prince's "When Doves Cry" are almost unrecognizable as Mia gives the songs her own special touch. Sandy Denny's "Who Knows Where The Time Goes?" is the perfect setting for Mia's angelic vocals, while "Careful You" from TV On The Radio is the ideal song for Mia to incorporate into her live performance. The album finishes with the south of the border sway of Townes Van Zandt's "Pancho And Lefty" and Joni Mitchell's "The Circle Game," which fits Mia's vocal range, infused with a shuffle rhythm. To find out more about Mia Doi Todd and her latest album "Songbook," please visit

From the soul of south comes the latest release from New Orleans songstress Miss Sophie Lee title "Traverse This Universe." The new eleven song release features her wonderful backing band The Parish Suites. Miss Sophie Lee wrote six of the album tracks, including the nostalgic feel of the opener "You And Me (the Universe)." She adds a country vibe to "That's When Your Heartache Begins," before picking up the tempo with the jazzy feel of "Someday." Miss Sophie Lee and the Parish Suites bring back the days of the roaring forties with the swing of "Undecided" and "Ain't Misbehaving." The band puts a little extra into Duke Ellington's "It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing," before closing with the sweet gentle pop of "Lovely In That Dress." To find out more about Miss Sophie Lee and the Parish Suites latest release "Traverse This Universe," please visit

No comments: