Friday, July 22, 2016

CD Review: New Music From Indie-Artists Michael Todd, Bucky Hayes & The Commonwealth, Jordan Bennett And Sweet Sweet

From the plains of Oklahoma comes the debut album from singer/songwriter Michael Todd titled "Crashland." After opening for the likes of Ronnie Milsap, BJ Thomas and Sawyer Brown; Michael Todd was ready to collect his best songs together for his debut release. The new nine-song album begins with the storied folk lyrics of "The Cave," as Michael Todd invites you "down, down, down." He has fun singing the words to "French Fried Lady In Combat Boots" as his voice get powerful during the chorus, but the soulful, emotional delivery of "Shine" showcases the vulnerability in his songs. The album finishes with the laid-back sound of "Sensible Midsize Sedan" and the high-powered acoustic strumming of "The Undertow." To find out more about Michael Todd and his latest release "Crashland," please visit
Next from New York City comes the debut album from Bucky Hayes And The Commonwealth titled "100 Miles To Macon," which shows that Bucky is a southern boy at heart. The new ten song release begins with the country rocker "I'll Leave The Light On" as Bucky's vocals reflect a southern version of John Mellencamp. He demands your full attention on the big bluesy guitar riffs of "Sweet June" and the up-tempo swing of "Loretta Rae." He fully engulfs the southern rock sound of "100 Miles To Macon" and showcases his softer side with "The Times You Chose To Be In My Arms," before closing with the high-energy, Americana/country rhythm of "We Gonna Get Strong." To find out more about Bucky Hayes And The Commonwealth and their latest release "100 Miles To Macon," please visit
Christian artist Jordan Bennett will be releasing his acoustic-based debut album titled "Outcasts And Untouchables." His soulful vocals have the perfect blend for this rising singer/songwriter to open his album with "Stars At Night." The gentle folk delivery of "Nothing Without You" and the acoustic pop/rock of "Outcasts And Untouchables" shows that Jordan's songwriting is mature beyond his years. He closes with a reflection of his faith with "Walk With Me To The Heavens" and the up-beat strumming of "The Great Unknown." To find out more about Jordan Bennett and his new release "Outcasts And Untouchables," please visit 
Finally we arrive at the latest release from the duo Sweet Sweet. Their new album titled "In Tandem" featuring an array of styles, including country, folk, rock and that's just in the opener "To The Stars." The new five-song EP contains the warm, gentle acoustics of "Daylight" and the Americana flow of "Remind Me." They close their new short 20-minute album with the classic Paul Simon like build-up of "Lost Kids." To find out more about Sweet Sweet and their latest release "In Tandem," please visit

No comments: