Thursday, July 28, 2016

CD Review: New Music From Singer/Songwriters Jesse Dayton, Erin Hill And Alexander

Arriving in September is the latest album from Texas singer/songwriter Jesse Dayton titled "The Revealer." He averages about 180 shows a year and has built-up a cult following around the globe. His new twelve-song release begins with the guitar-boogie of "Daddy Was A Badass" as Dayton surrounded himself with a group of friends that help him create this great new Americana, Tex-Mex rockabilly sound. He speeds up the rhythm with the punk-like fury of "Holy Ghost Rock N Roller" and brings back the classic outlaw country sounds of "Eatin' Crow & Drinkin' Sand." Dayton's folk-blues storytelling lyrics shine through the acoustic strumming of "Mrs. Victoria (Beautiful Thing)," before closing his album with the honky-tonk sound of "Match Made In Heaven" and finger-picking folk gem "Big State Motel." Jesse Dayton will be on tour this fall with The Supersuckers and Reverend Peyton's Big Damn Band after a late-summer solo jaunt along the west coast. For a complete list of tour dates and to find out more about his new album "The Revealer," please visit

Singer/songwriter/musician/actor Erin Hill has worked with many of the greats in the music industry like Kayne West, Cyndi Lauper, Enya and Randy Newman. She also appeared in numerous television shows like HBO's "The Chris Rock Show" and PBS's "American Masters." Her latest album titled "Harp Town" features eighteen songs that not only showcase her wonderful angelic voice, but also her skills as a harpist. On her latest release, she reinterprets many classic songs that are given new life in this special setting. Early standout tracks are Hill's versions of the Smashing Pumpkins' "Disarm" and Adele's "Someone Like You." She revives the Til Tuesday classic "Voices Carry" and finds the perfect balance for the Kansas original "Dust In The Wind." She delivers the innocence of Jeff Buckley's "Hallelujah" and lets her vocals soar in the operatic tone of "O Mia Babbino Caro." The album finishes with pop feel of "Speechless" and the steady flow of Rihanna's "Stay." To find out more about Erin Hill and her latest release "Harp Town," please visit

From Nashville comes the self-titled debut album from singer/songwriter Alexander. It features five songs, beginning with the pop beats of "Need You To Know" as Alexander's vocals hit the right vibe for mainstream radio success. The music of his debut single "Can't Sleep Without You" is contagious, mixing together what's hot on the radio today with his undeniable lyrics. The short EP closes with the acoustic pop of "Melody Of You" and energy build-up of "Hush Hush" as fans can't for what's coming next from this rising artist. To find out more about Alexander, please visit

No comments: