Monday, September 5, 2016

CD Review: New Music Releases From The Refusers, New Orleans Suspects & Socks In The Frying Pan

Seattle-based rock band The Refusers will be releasing their new album titled "Wake Up America" on October 14th. Lead singer/songwriter Michael Belkin felt this country's government was destroying itself with its filthy practices as described on the title song and with the corporate bail outs of "2 Big 2 Fail." He tries to lighten the mood with the jazzy feel of "You Won't Read It In The NY Times," the message is the same throughout the album. The angriness of "Hang The Bankers" and the intense rock of "Backlash" show that The Refusers want you to listen to their cause and are passionate to do something about it. Belkin's guitar work is exceptional in "Big Pharma Pimp" as he is supported by Steve Newton on bass, Joe Doria (Santana) on keyboards and Brendan Hill (Blues Traveler) on drums. The new fifteen-song release closes with the blues-based romp of "Shop Until You Drop" and the acoustic-based corruption story of "Professor Friedman's Magic Money Contraption." To find out more about The Refusers and their latest release "Wake Up America," please visit

Next Louisiana comes the latest release titled "Kaleidoscoped" from funk/rock band New Orleans Suspects. It will be released on CD on September 16th and on vinyl on September 30th. The new eight-song release begins with the call to "Get It Started," featuring the Tower of Power horn section as the up-tempo collage of horns and guitars is the perfect mix to get the energy flowing. Next comes the story of "Cocaine Jane" as the music gets a psychedelic make-over. The band continues with the R&B/funk groove of "Dixie Highway" and the quick-pace of "You Got The Fire" as Jeff Watkins sax blazes a trail with its spirited solo. Singer Jake Eckert draws upon the inspiration of Dr. John on the soulful tones of "Creole Hannah," before closing with the jazzy, New Orleans flavor of the "Neighborhood Strut." The New Orleans Suspects are on tour until November with only a couple of appearances in New England. For a complete list of live dates and to find out more about their latest release "Kaleidoscoped," please visit

Irish trio, Socks In The Frying Pan recently released their latest studio album titled "Without A Paddle." The release of the this album co-insides with a U.S. tour that the band is currently on which runs until mid-September. The new ten-song release begins with authentic, Celtic instrumental "113.5874." The folk-storytelling lyrics of "Guiding Light" and "Dublin Blues" feature the wonderful harmonizing between bandmates Aodan Coyne, Shane Hayes and Fiachra Hayes. They pick the tempo back up with the quick-paced instrumental jigs "No Relation" and "Little Red Rocket," before closing the album with more wonderful, traditional Celtic sounds with "The Angry Bee Set." To find out more about Socks In The Frying Pan and their latest release "Without A Paddle," please visit

No comments: