Thursday, November 10, 2016

CD Review: New Metal Blade Records Releases From Serpentine Dominion, Anaal Nathrakh, Ravencult & Downfall Of Gaia

One of the latest heavy metal collaborations is the release of the debut album from Serpentine Dominion. It features members of Killswitch Engage, The Black Dahlia Murder and the legendary George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher from Cannibal Corpse. What started as a proposal on the 2009 Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival has blossomed into this new nine-song release. The songs are fast-paced, mind-numbing blasts of energy. The drums are relentless through "Vanquished Unto Thee" and the chugging guitars come out, guns-blazing for "Sovereign Hate." Fisher keeps up with the speed on the aggressive growl of "On The Brink Of Devastation," before closing with the acoustic instrumental "Prelude," which leads into the thunderous attack of "This Endless War." To find out more about Serpentine Dominion and their latest release, please visit their Facebook page at

Next up is the return of Anaal Nathrakh with their new album "The Whole Of The Law." The music is an assault on your senses as the duo of Mick Kenney and David Hunt blast through your mind on "Depravity Favors The Bold" and the screams of "...So We Can Die Happy." Their new eleven-song release displays Anall Nathrakh's ferocity as everything is pushed to the extreme on "And You Will Beg For Our Secrets" and "On Being A Slave." In between is the swirling, chaotic metal of "Extravaganza!," which is like being caught in a demented nightmare. The album closes with the speed and aggressive power displayed in "Of Power And The Black Shawls." They tack on two bonus tracks, a seven-minute juggernaut cover of Iron Maiden's "Powerslave" and their re-creation of The Specials' song "Man At C&A." To find out more about Anaal Nathrakh and their latest release "The Whole Of The Law," please visit their Facebook page at

Next from Athens, Greece comes the latest release titled "Force Of Profanation" from Ravencult. During the five years since their last full-length release, Ravencult singed on with Metal Blade Records and grew their fan base performing sold-out show all over Europe. Their new eight-song release begins with the quick pace of "Tormentor Of Flash" as screaming vocals ring through your speakers. They lock into the death metal onslaught of "In Macabre Triumph" and blast away your ears with the fast-pace pounding of "Beneath The Relics Of Old." You can feel the emotion in the vocals of "Merciless Reprisal," before finishing with the frenzied attack of "Altar Of Impurity" and the growling vocals of "Temple Of The Void." To find out more about Ravencult and their latest release "Force Of Profanation," please visit their Facebook page at

Finally we arrive at the latest release from the Downfall Of Gaia. Their new album titled "Atrophy," follows on the heels of their most popular release, 2014's "Aeon Unveils The Thrones Of Decay." This is also the first album featuring new guitarist Marco Mazzola taking the place of Peter Wolff who called it quits. The new six-song release begins with the thunderous collage of music and screaming vocals of the eight-minute epic "Brood." The intensity builds throughout the nearly nine-minute adventure of "Woe" and the band blows by the six-minute mark on the guitar driven "Atrophy." The album closes with the progressive metal feel of "Petrichor," which showcases the full musicianship within the band. To find out more about the Downfall of Gaia and their latest release "Atrophy," please visit

No comments: