Tuesday, November 1, 2016

CD Review: Omnivore Recordings Continues Reissue Of Blind Boys Of Alabama Albums

Earlier this year, Omnivore Recording began their reissue campaign of the turn of the century albums from the Blind Boys Of Alabama. The albums "Spirit Of The Century" and "Higher Ground" (reviews: jpsmusicblog.blogspot.com) were released in May and on November 4th, Omnivore Recordings continue with "Go Tell It On The Mountain" and "Atom Bomb." Both albums with be reissued on CD with bonus tracks.
Beginning with their 2003 Grammy-winning Christmas album "Go Tell It On The Mountain," The Blind Boys Of Alabama were riding a big wave of popularity as their last two album sold very well. They also began inviting guests to perform with them on their albums and "Go Tell It On The Mountain" includes a load of guests, beginning with Solomon Burke on the Harry Connick Jr. original "I Pray On Christmas." The songs on this album perfectly match their guests as Michael Franti gives a deep, spoken word delivery of "Little Drummer Boy" and Aaron Neville lifts your spirits with an accapella version of "Joy To The World." Shelby Lynne duets with Clarence Fountain on the warming tones of "The Christmas Song," before the Blind Boys Of Alabama close the album with the straight gospel sounds of "Silent Night." The bonus tracks feature the Blind Boys performing an accapella version of the traditional "My Lord What A Morning" and live versions of "Go Tell It On The Mountain" and "Amazing Grace."
After performing on two albums with Ben Harper, the Blind Boys Of Alabama returned with their 2005 release "Atom Bomb." The album featured the Blind Boys back on lead on vocals, beginning with the wonderful harmonies of "(Jesus Hits Like The) Atom Bomb." The Gift Of Gab adds a little hip-hop flavor to "Demons," featuring special guests Billy Preston on piano and David Hidalgo (Los Lobos) on guitar. The album featured a mix a traditional gospel songs like "Old Blind Barnabas" and covers of sixties classics like Norman Greenbaum's "Spirit In The Sky" and Blind Faith's "Presence Of The Lord." The original ten-song release gets expanded with seven bonus tracks, which include instrumental versions of some of the songs from the original album. To find out more about these two new expanded reissues from the Blind Boys Of Alabama, please visit omnivorerecordings.com

No comments: