Saturday, February 25, 2017

CD Review: Omnivore Recordings Reissues The Muffs "Happy Birthday To Me"

Since the California rock trio The Muffs reunited in 2014, Omnivore Recordings has taken upon itself to re-release the band's catalog. This year marks the 20th anniversary of The Muffs third album "Happy Birthday To Me" and Omnivore is preparing to reissue the album on CD and on white vinyl.

The original 15-song release is considered by many the band's most hook-filled album as they looked to capture the mainstream popularity of alternative rock radio. Their new release was quick and high energy as the band were firing on all cylinders. Many of the tracks featured The Muffs' signature punk sound, as in the opener "Crush Me" and "That Awful Man," while they also stepped up their songwriting with the addictive "My Crazy Afternoon" and "Outer Space." The rawness of "Nothing" and "Keep Holding Me" allowed The Muffs to adapt to the new wave grunge movement overtaking the country on the late-nineties, but the album closer "The Best Time Around," showed another dimension to their development as a band.

This new reissue features the original album along with seven bonus tracks, beginning with the U.K. B-side, feedback-infused "Pacer." The other six bonus songs features previously unreleased demos for almost half of the songs on the album. The demos sound almost as good as the released versions of the songs, even two decades later. To find out more about this new issue of The Muffs "Happy Birthday To Me," please visit

No comments: