Tuesday, March 28, 2017

CD Review: New Music From Indie-Artists The Big East, BJ Wilbanks & Foxpalmer

From Toronto, Canada comes the latest release titled "Hungry Ghosts" from 70's-style rockers The Big East. Their new 11-song album begins with the quick, country rock of "The Wild Life," as the band sounds like the second-coming of The Eagles. They keep the energy flowing with the exciting guitar riffs and sing-along chorus of "Too Far Gone," before slowing down for the folk/rock ballads "What Dreams May Come" and "Across The Water." They deliver the smooth seventies soft rock of "Scarecrow," before picking the tempo back up with the youthful, garage rock of "Love Monkey." The new album finishes with the warm vocal tones of "Muskoka Times" and wonderful harmonizing of "Here To Now (Down, Down Down)," as The Big East will bring you back to a simpler time in music. To find out more about The Big East and their latest release "Hungry Ghosts," please visit bigeast.ca.

Southern soul-man BJ Wilbanks is preparing to release his new self-titled album on April 28th. Inspired by the rhythm 'n' blues of the 60's, BJ Wilbanks is following in the footsteps of other modern artists like Leon Bridges and Nathaniel Rateliff. His new release begins with the horn-infused, gospel-like delivery of "Healin' My Blues" as Wilbanks' vocals steal the show. His sound gets that Allman Brothers Band feel during "Tied Up & Twisted" and "Change Your Mind" as he funks up the music. He used his Al Green influence on the soulful blues of "I Can't Help It," before finishing with "Livin' Off The Land," which could have very well been an outtake from the famous "Basement Tapes" as BJ delivers the goods in this instant Roots-music classic. To find out more about BJ Wilbanks and his new self-titled release, please visit bjwilbanks.com.

London-based singer/songwriter Foxpalmer is preparing to release her debut album "Locked In Memory" on April 28th. The new six-song release begins with the alternative, acoustic rock of "End" and the quiet, bluesy ballad "Where Do You Sleep Tonight?" as you instantly get lost in her vocals. She plugs in for the dark tones of "Alone," before wrapping up her short new release with the acoustic build-up of "Pieces" and the up-tempo alternative rock of "In My Head." Both songs will remind you of the early days for alternative, folk/rock band, 10,000 Maniacs. The new release also includes bonus acoustic versions of "Alone" and "Fault," which allow you to concentrate more on Foxpalmer's songwriting in a more laid back setting. To find out more about Foxpalmer and her new release "Locked In Memory," please visit her Facebook page at facebook.com/foxpalmer.band.

No comments: