Monday, April 24, 2017

CD Review: New Music From Family-Friendly Artists Mr Dave, Joanie Leeds & The Nightlights And AJ Lee

From Chicago comes the new album from children's celebrity Mr Dave (a.k.a. Dave Hamilton). The new release titled "Feeling Good" is his fourth kids' album and will be available on June 9th. Not only are Mr Dave's songs extremely addictive, but he is also teaching as he is singing. He gives kids life lessons like in "Street Smarts" and "I Will Share," but he also tells us some amazing stories with "Captain Brown Beard" and "Pelican Kid." He incorporates the sunny sounds of The Beach Boys in his original "Two Wheels," before finishing up with the addictive, fun rhythm of "Tiny Things." To find our more about Mr. Dave and his latest release "Feeling Good," please visit

From Brooklyn comes the new children's album titled "Brooklyn Baby!" from Joanie Leeds & The Nightlights. It will be released on May 19th through Limbostar. The new album will be her eighth and combines elements of folk, rock, hip-hop, punk and pop in order to create songs that will appeal to adults as well as kids. Her new 13-song release begins with the swinging rock of "Ferry Nice" and continues with the jazzy tones of "Subway." Joanie simplifies the lyrics of "Stoop" to allow everyone to sing-along on the song's slow, swaying rhythm, but her voice really shines on the ballad "Brooklyn Baby." She spills rhythms like a rapper in "Pizza," before picking up the pace with the raw, punk energy of "Rainbow Bagels." She finishes the new album with the up-beat, light-hearted sound of "Shayne Punim" and the beautiful acoustic-folk style of "Sunday Morning." To find out more about Joanie Leeds & The Nightlights and their new album "Brooklyn Baby!," please visit

From California comes the second solo outing from award-winning, country music singer AJ Lee. Her new self-titled album features cover songs by some of the founding voices of the California country/folk sound. Her new short 6-song release begins with the gentle touch of Gillian Welch's "Look At Miss Ohio" and the airy flow of Gram Parsons' "Hickory Wind." She turns Bob Dylan's "Tomorrow Is A Long Time" into classic country gold, before finishing her new album with the beautiful harmonizing on Herb Pederson's "Wait A Minute." To find our more about AJ Lee and her latest release, please visit

No comments: