Saturday, April 29, 2017

CD Review: New Music From John Mayer, Alexandra Savior And COIN

Singer/songwriter/guitarist John Mayer became so inspired by his involvement with members of the Grateful Dead during their summer tour as Dead & Company that Mayer wrote and recorded a brand new album titled "The Search For Everything." He released the album digitally in two waves, featuring eight of the albums twelve songs prior to it's physical release on April 14th.

The music mixes elements of pop, blues and jazz as Mayer's iconic vocals bring it all together. Beginning with "Still Feel Like Your Man," Mayer continues to sing about relationships as he has become the voice of lost love. His soulful delivery of "Emoji Of A Wave" and the blues guitar solo of "Helpless" displays how Mayer brings together all these different aspects of music to create an addictive blend of elite music. He captures the elements of emotions perfectly with the simplicity of "In The Blood" and "Never On The Day You Leave," before closing his new album with the country tones of "Roll It On Home" and the nostalgic sounding "You're Gonna Live Forever In Me." John Mayer is currently on his world tour which runs into September. For a complete list of dates and to find out more about his new album "The Search For Everything," please visit

Portland, OR native Alexandra Savior recently released her debut album "Belladonna Of Sadness" on April 7th through Columbia Records. Her singles "Shades" and "Risk" received grand attention, gathering positive reviews. Her new album features 11-songs, beginning with the sultry, jazz-pop of "Mirage" as Alexandra's vocals lead the way. The sound of "Shades" is very addictive and carries an alternative-pop sound different from anything on the radio today. The beats are strong on "M.T.M.E." and the gentle flow of "Cupid" will get you hooked on to her sweet sounding vocals. The album finishes with her latest single "Vanishing Point" which features a Tex-Mex sound and dark tones of "Mystery Girl." Alexandra Savior has some live dates lined-up in Boston and in Europe. For a complete list of shows and to find out more about her new album "Belladonna Of Sadness," please visit

From Nashville comes the sophomore release from the rock band COIN titled "How Will You Know If You Never Try." It quickly follows the success of their debut album as the band was named Amazon's 2017 Breakthrough Artist of the Year. Their new album was released back on April 21st through Colombia Records. Beginning with the addictive alternative pop/rock of "Don't Cry 2020," COIN continues right where they left off as a quickly rising force is music. Their new 11-song release continues with the up-tempo swing of "Boyfriend" and the alternative radio hit single "Talk Too Much" as you find yourself singing along to the chorus. Their youthful energy just flows through the entire album as songs like "Are We Alone?" and "Feeling" are undeniable hits, before closing with the mellow ballad "Malibu 1992." COIN are currently on the road promoting their new album. For a complete list of live dates and to find out more about their new album "How Will You Know If You Never Try," please visit

No comments: