Monday, June 26, 2017

CD Review: Flash Back With These New Releases From Captain Beyond, Anthony Phillips & "Tonite Let's Make Love In London"

The sixties British documentary "Tonite Let's All Make Love In London" was a sign of the times in swinging London, England 50 years ago. While the movie may have opened many eyes to what was happening in the clubs of London, the soundtrack was also as ground-breaking. It featured music by Chris Farlowe, the Small Faces and a little known new band The Pink Floyd. The soundtrack featured some of the first studio recordings of Pink Floyd as well as Chris Farlowe's original version of "Out Of Time" (made popular by The Rolling Stones). Mixed in between the music was interviews with celebrities like Mick Jagger, Michael Caine and Julie Christie, describing what they thought of the sixties London scene. To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the "Tonite Let's All Make Love In London" soundtrack, Immediate Records is releasing a newly remastered version of the soundtrack on CD and on pink vinyl. To find out more about this new release, please visit 

Space rock supergroup Captain Beyond took the music world by storm in the seventies, releasing 3 studio albums in 5 years. The band, consisting of members of Deep Purple, Iron Butterfly and The Johnny Winter Band, was asked by Duane Allman, after hearing their demo, to join the Allman Brothers Band label Capricorn Records. Now, for the first time, those demos from the band's first album are being released on CD and limited edition red color vinyl.

The new 10-song release begins with a song that did not appear on any Captain Beyond album, "Uranus Highway," which sounds like if The Allman Brothers Band became a progressive rock band. The demos sound very clean for being buried for over 45 years. Songs like "I Can't Feel Nothing" and "Ragin River Of Fear" showcase the potential this band had as they combines elements of hard rock, southern rock and progressive rock to give music a unique, original sound. To find out more about Captain Beyond and the latest release "Lost & Found 1972-1973," please visit 

British singer/songwriter/guitarist Anthony Phillips was one of the founding members of the band Genesis. After the band's second album "Trespass," Phillips left to concentrate on his solo career. He released his first solo album in 1977 and continues to this day to recording music for albums, television and movies. Cherry Red Records label, Esoteric Recordings, is revisiting one of Phllips' albums for a new 2CD/DVD deluxe edition. The album, "Slow Dance" was originally released in 1990 and features 2 instrumental tracks, "Slow Dance (Part 1 & Part 2)." The music showcased Phillips range as a musician, mixing rock and orchestral music to create a classical suite, but Phillips felt that the album was unfinished. 

The new deluxe edition of the "Slow Dance" album features the original music re-mixed and remastered on the first disc. The second disc consists of "Slow Dance Vignettes" that were recorded in the studio to help with the ideas of the full "Slow Dance" rock suite. With the alternate mix of "No Way Out" and the addition of the "Clarinet Sleigh Ride," you can image how different the "Slow Dance" album could have sounded. The DVD features the original "Slow Dance" album in 5.1 surround sound, along with the original stereo mix of the album. To find out more about Anthony Phillips and his latest expanded deluxe edition of "Slow Dance," pleased visit

No comments: