Tuesday, June 27, 2017

CD Review: New Live Albums From King Crimson And iCon, Plus New Prog-Rock From Hedersleben

To celebrate the music of their friend David Bowie and to support their current North American tour, progressive rock band King Crimson released a new 5-song live EP titled "Heroes - Live in Europe 2016." The album features 4 songs recorded live in Berlin 2016 when the band were on their European tour. The new release kicks off with a spot on cover of Bowie's "Heroes," which leads into a 10-minute version of their 1973 song "Easy Money" as the music just glides along. The set continues with an edited version of the fan-favorite "Starless," before closing with the drum solo titled "The Hell Hounds Of Krim" and a radio edit of their "Heroes" single. A full live album from the band's 2016 European tour will be released later this year. For more information about King Crimson's "Heroes" EP, please visit schizoidshop.com.

Founding members of the band Asia, John Wetton and Geoff Downes collaborated first in 2002, recording an album under the new name iCon. They recorded 3 full-length albums and an EP in 7 years. A 2009 iCon concert was planned on being the premier release on Epicon Records and was approved by Wetton in January, just prior to his passing. It was recorded at St. Mary-le-Bow church in London, England and features 19 songs that cover the duo's entire career through iCon, along with Asia and King Crimson. A DVD of the show has only been available online under the artists' website, but now gets expanded with 2CDs.  

 The new 2CD/DVD set begins with the Asia classics "Countdown To Zero" and "Go." They end up touching upon the band's new album "Icon 3" with the songs "Twice The Man I Was" and "Don't Go Out Tonight," but seem to find more common ground with their audience with the Asia songs "True Colors" and "Heat Of The Moment." Wetton and Downes showcase their brilliance on the King Crimson classic "Starless" and the show closer "Rock And Roll Dream." To find out more about iCon and their new deluxe edition of "Urban Psalm Live," please visit cherryred.co.uk.

The San Francisco-based band, Hedersleben recently released their 4th studio album titled "Orbit" through Purple Pyramid Records. Each of the band's first three albums have featured a different lead singer and this time around it is Alicia Previn (daughter of world famous conductor Andre Previn) taking on the lead vocals. While the majority of the tracks center around the musicianship within the band as they begin your journey with the six-minute epic sounding "Judas Star." Then they continue with a heavier progressive rock sound on "Walk Above The Clouds," before delivering the atmospheric space rock of "Distant Sun." Previn's angelic vocals highlights the gentle flow of "Hedersleben (Dreamlike)," before the band finish the new album with the hard edge, seventies rock feel of "Be There" and the gentle nature of "Perigree." To find out more about Hedersleben and their latest release "Orbit," please visit their Facebook page at facebook.com/HederslebenBand.

No comments: